top of page
Search
  • studentsofgvsu

Misunderstood

In modern society mental illness is taken more seriously, however, the term "anxiety" or "anxious" is loosely used and often overlooked. In our society, people have made the term anxiety overused taking away from the actual meaning and feeling. Being fearful of something doesn't automatically mean anxiety. Anxiety is the constant fear of something. The over generalization of the word has made actual anxious people living with anxiety taken less serious. I lost one a family member to this, they were living with extreme anxiety and were not taken seriously and consistently told "everyone has anxiety you just learn to deal with it." When they were overlooked by their family and friends being told to just "suck it up" or "you're overreacting" because of the everyday generalization of the word, they didn't know how to cope and unfortunately took their own life. Mental illness is all over, and it should be used less loosely and taken more serious.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared

I’m a social work major who has social anxiety. Sometimes I think whatever supreme being is out there has a sick sense of humor. Sometimes I get too wigged out to even admit that to people. The last p

Too Much

Anxiety to me has always been confusing. It’s like I know it's there, but I don’t know what to do with it, and I don’t exactly know what it's doing to me. To start from the beginning, my family has al

Grad School

Starting my path to becoming a Physician Assistant (PA) was an easy choice for me. I knew that the lifestyle and connections I would be able to make with patients would benefit both myself and my pati

bottom of page