top of page
Search
  • studentsofgvsu

Coping

For my word Anxiety, I can draw a lot from my person life. I have suffered from depression and anxiety since I was eleven. Throughout all my years in school I was always the loud and outgoing girl. I was Involved in sports, in class discussions, and now currently belong in a sorority here at GVSU. But through all of that I was constantly worrying about what others thought of me, or the thousands of possible what if scenarios that ran through my mind. I was scared to be myself, scared about if I was too being loud or not loud enough, worried if people, even family didn’t like me. Thoughts like this race through your mind constantly no matter how hard you try to push them out. I’ve tried countless medications, went to therapist after therapist, the whole shebang. I actually ended up developing insomnia related to my anxious thoughts keeping me awake at night. But no one assumes I have mental illness because of the way I carry myself when I’m in public, the way I represent myself on my social media, etc. Thankfully, after years of work I have found ways to cope with my illness and found the right combination of medicine for me.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared

I’m a social work major who has social anxiety. Sometimes I think whatever supreme being is out there has a sick sense of humor. Sometimes I get too wigged out to even admit that to people. The last p

Too Much

Anxiety to me has always been confusing. It’s like I know it's there, but I don’t know what to do with it, and I don’t exactly know what it's doing to me. To start from the beginning, my family has al

Grad School

Starting my path to becoming a Physician Assistant (PA) was an easy choice for me. I knew that the lifestyle and connections I would be able to make with patients would benefit both myself and my pati

bottom of page