top of page
Search
  • studentsofgvsu

Faith and Love

This is a hard word to discuss, as it can be thought about in many different ways and brings up many feelings. At first, I think of depression as powerful and controlling. Personally, I have experienced depression for much of my college career and on and off during high school.  I believe a lot of it stems from being an agnostic member of the LGBTQ+ community that grew up in an extremely conservative Christian household.  I really struggled to come to terms with myself, my family, and the world around me.  I was confused about my faith and what the purpose of life really was. these issues were all-consuming, and I spiraled into depression and anxiety because of it.  To be honest, I still struggle with these things sometimes.  However, now I think of depression as more of an obstacle; it can slow me down, but it can't stop me.  I am in control of my destiny - not my parents, not their religion, not my hometown, not my past choices, nothing.  It's not easy, and I do need help along the way, but I've finally been able to get to a point where I can say it doesn't control me anymore.  I've now felt the happiness and joy that comes from that realization, and it's more powerful than depression could ever hope to be.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Coping

For my word Anxiety, I can draw a lot from my person life. I have suffered from depression and anxiety since I was eleven. Throughout all my years in school I was always the loud and outgoing girl. I

ADHD and Depression

I have never experienced depression, which I am grateful that I have not. But I am a student who has ADHD and based on a quick google search about ADHD and depression; I live at a higher risk of havin

Stronger Than Ever

Depression is a serious disease. It is something that, once you have it you are sadly stuck with it. You can walk by many people on a daily basis and not think anything about it, but deep down inside

bottom of page